I’m fine

An independent woman, that’s what I am. Call it independent or stubborn, but I will not easily accept help. I can do it myself. I don’t need anyone to pay for my dinner. I don’t need a man to lift my heavy suitcases. I don’t need any pills to help me with headaches. I don’t need anybody to stay home and watch over me when I am sick. I am a trooper, carrying on even when I should be stopping. My brain always finds a reason to go on. It is like my life will fall apart if I take a break from it. The world will stop turning if I don’t show up for work.

I honestly don’t have a clue where I got this strong sense of perseverance and this fear to lose control. I don’t want to be dependent on anybody and am eager to prove I can manage by myself. I don’t want to be anyone’s inconvenience. At the same time I am always willing to offer a helping hand and am not shy to tell people off for not letting me help them. If someone is in need and I’ve got the means to help than why are people too proud to let me? The brain works in mysterious ways.

I don’t need any help. From anybody. I don’t need help… until I am so disoriented that I am walking into walls. Until I am too weak to leave the comfort of my warm bed. Until I am so desperate that I can start to feel the world falling from under my feet. Then I will gladly put my shattered hand in yours, to help me back up. And let’s be honest, sometimes it’s just nice to have someone take care of you. Especially when you don’t really need it.

Today’s daily prompt ‘take care’ asks When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?

One thought on “I’m fine

Leave a Reply

