The warmth of a good welcome

The road to Jindabyne is easy. It is one long road from Sydney to Canberra and then a second long road from Canberra to Jindabyne. It is easy, as long as you have a ride.

My journey started in Sydney, where I collected all my ski gear and other luggage. I was still optimistic when I started my walk to the central train station, from where I would catch my bus.

I had a twentysomething kilo backpack on my back, a daypack on the front, camera bag dangling wherever it saw space and to top it off a big ski bag on wheels. In the middle of all this was my sweating face.

“Halfway.” I thought. “I must be halfway.” Eventually I made it through Sydney traffic to my bus, only to go through the same thing in Canberra. There, I spent one night, or rather half a night, before catching the 5.35 AM bus to Jindabyne.

Three times I had dragged my stuff through the streets and now I dragged it to the real estate agents office. It was minus 3 degrees and I had to wait outside for nearly two hours before I could get the keys to my new temporary home.

I was about to walk out of the office when the girl from reception called my name. “O. And since you have so much stuff one of my colleagues will take you there.” I felt so relieved when we were driving up the biggest hill in town. Now this is an act of kindness.

Today’s daily post: Describe a moment of kindness, between you and someone else — loved one or complete stranger.

2 thoughts on “The warmth of a good welcome

Leave a Reply

