The what ifs

What if I hadn’t gotten on that plane?

Everything was booked and ready to go, but a sudden case of heartache almost stopped me from going to the airport, from boarding that plane. The thought of having to start all over in a strange city was not making me happy anymore, but brought a fear and sense of loneliness to me.

After being excited for my travels for years and years all my dreams were being crushed with one sentence: “I think I need to figure things out by myself.” Instead of excitement, a flow of tears escaped my body. Yet I did get on that plane.

If I hadn’t gone… If I hadn’t gone I would have been stuck in my misery instead of picking up the pieces and moving my life forward. If I hadn’t gone I wouldn’t have fallen in love once again. If I hadn’t gone I wouldn’t have learned to ski, I wouldn’t have seen the jungle, I wouldn’t have met all the great people along the road.

If I hadn’t gone…. I would have missed out. I’m glad I went.

Leave a Reply

