Hasty decisions

Walking down the street, you encounter a folded piece of paper on the sidewalk. You pick it up and read it and immediately, your life has changed. Describe this experience.

I am walking home from work when I see something lying on the ground. I’ve had an absolutely horrible day and strangely this paper makes me curious. As I pick it up I notice it’s an envelope. It is not addressed to anyone though. All it contains is a train ticket with today’s date. In the spur of the moment I decide to run. I am going to make this train and it is going to take me to happiness or at least a change of scenery.

I run through the streets which are crowded since it’s rush hour and push myself through the masses of people. Luckily I know where the train station is. It isn’t far from here. Arrived at the station I have trouble finding the right platform. I am running out of time. I push people aside, getting anxious now. It is like this train represents everything. Whether or not I make this train is going to influence my future big time.

My laptop bag is hanging from my shoulder, bumping on and off my bum. I put in some effort for a final sprint and hop on the train just before the doors close. It takes a while before I find the right carriage and find that my seat is indeed empty. I sit down and take a breather. Then I look at my ticket. The train is only going to the next city.

This post is inspired by the daily prompt.

Leave a Reply

