Life in a fingerprint

You’re on a long flight, and a palm reader sitting next to you insists she reads your palm. You hesitate, but agree. What does she tell you?

I hate it when people are trying to interfere in my life. Yet again I find myself in the situation where someone feels the need to enlighten me about myself and who I am. This time they don’t claim to know how I feel though. Instead the lady next to me is grabbing my hand and starts staring at it intensely, twisting my hand occasionally to get a better view.

A few hmmm’s and aaah’s escape her mouth. Apparently I have a great future ahead of me. I need to think about my path and follow my heart. My strong lifeline shows great potential. If only I’d listen to my body. It turns out to be out of sorts. If I don’t make changes now, my body will rebel and inevitably it will drag me down. If I do make the changes my body and mind have been longing for I will lead a rich life.

When the lady is about to continue and tell me all about my potential I stop her. I’ve heard enough. I don’t want to go into this. My future is mine and mine only. I am perfectly happy leading the life I have now. With a lame excuse I put my headphones back on. Enough with the silliness. I am on my way to the rest of my life.

This post is inspired by the daily prompt: Life line

Leave a Reply

