Making sense of senses

If you were forced to give up one sense, but gain super-sensitivity in another, which senses would you choose?

I’ve always had bad eye sight. As a kid I used to miss the ball when playing badminton. I generally used to miss things. My parents must have thought I was crazy until they discovered I had one really bad eye which made it difficult for me to see depth. So I’ve always wondered if you see the world differently from the way I see it.

Even though my sight is not perfect I wouldn’t want to give it up. I can live with a slight malfunction in my senses, but losing one completely? It’s like you’re asking me if I’d rather never listen to music anymore, never feel my boyfriend’s touch, never smell my freshly baked pies, never see a movie again, or never ever taste favourite food.

I’d like taste to be my super-sensitive sense. I imagine I can taste every little ingredient in food. I would make the best recipes even better with my oversensitive taste buds. With every bite I take my tongue would do a small happy dance and send fire crackers to my brain. All I’d need to do is avoid the things I don’t like to eat.

But what would I give up? What would the most brilliant food be when you cannot smell it? When you cannot feel the structure of it in your mouth? When you cannot see the beautiful plate in front of you? When you have to eat it in total silence? I think I’ll settle for what I’ve got now. Maybe the grass isn’t much greener on the other side.

This post is inspired by the daily prompt: Super Sensitive

One thought on “Making sense of senses

Leave a Reply

