Life on the other side

Today’s daily prompt poses the question

If you could pause real life and spend some time living with a family anywhere in the world, where would you go?

I’d like to say I’d go somewhere super adventurous, like living with some distant tribe that doesn’t use mobile phones. If something like that even exists these days. But honestly, could I do that?

I don’t think I have the guts to see something too different. Would I eat what they eat? Sleep like they sleep? Dress as they dress? Could I say goodbye to all my comforts? Honestly, I don’t think I could.

But if it isn’t going back to basics, then where would I like to go? I’ve got dozens of travel magazines that inspire me with rich stories and pictures. And yet when asked this question, I don’t have an answer ready.

When I was younger I wanted to do an exchange in America, but I guess now I would go for something a bit less western. Something that might cause a bit of a culture shock. Maybe it would be cool to experience the Arab world. Especially since I don’t know much about it.

I’d like to be part of a family in Jordan. Surprise me! I’m sure I would like it and I’d learn a lot. But the thing I am most sure about is that I’d be happy to live my own life again after that.

Leave a Reply

