Days of bests

“Best day ever!” I’ve uttered these words quite a bit. Maybe my life is just amazing and awesome. Maybe we just take these words lightly. Today is not the best day ever. It is boxing day. I am alone. I feel the lack of sleep and a thumping headache. Merry Xmas to me.

The best day ever. There are many things I would like to do, but I don’t think they would all fit into one ‘best day ever’. So I hope I can have many more best day evers. I just gradually raise the bar so I can genuinely say it is the best day ever.

I’ll start with achieving something like majorly improving my skiing and doing another ski season abroad. The best day ever would be where I confidently race down a black slope with obstacles, my nose almost touching the powder.

Another best day ever would be the man I love asking me to share the rest of his life with him. This obviously happens in the most romantic and surprising way. I’m blown away and can’t believe my luck and we live happily ever after.

Then eventually my best day ever would be retiring, still with the man I love. Even though I’ve travelled heaps during my working life, together we make the decision to travel the world and live our dream. Now that’s a best day ever.

Obviously there is no point to planning your best day ever. Best day evers are best enjoyed when they come as a surprise. That’s why I just let you enjoy a few of my best day evers. Next time I’ll cry out “this is the best day ever!” I’ll let you know.

This post is inspired by the daily prompt: The Best Day Ever

Leave a Reply

