Activate warp speed

When listening to a playlist, sometimes you just can’t seem to help pressing the next button halfway through a song. Some people can’t even listen to one whole song and keep skipping things all the time. It irritates me. I must admit that occasionally I do this too, but it’s the exception and not the rule.

Sometimes I wish time had similar features. Wouldn’t it be nice to fast forward that awkward conversation or that tedious meeting? But then again, those moments build us and make us who we are. Although my past isn’t all happiness and sunshine, I wouldn’t change it. This makes me think, if ever the fast forward button for life is invented, would I even want to use it?

At the moment I would just fast forward to the point where I’ll have saved enough money to do something fun again. When life just consists of eating, working and sleeping and not much else, it’s just not worth it. To me it has become a drag. Time to snap out of it. So I started saving. Unfortunately that will take a while, so I might just press that button.

But then only with the guarantee that things wouldn’t have changed too much. If you skip time and wake up a few months from now, would that mean that you don’t know what has happened in between? And what about the people you care about? What if you woke up and they weren’t there anymore? Maybe I’ll leave the fast forward button to the early adopters. I’ll find my time to use it, but it’s not just yet.

The daily prompt inspired my to write this post. Check out Fast Forward!

Leave a Reply

